Weighing wax, does it really matter??

Greetings, all!

I've been told to weigh out my pound before I melt it and then I've been told I need to melt the wax then pour a pound. One vendor says it doesn't matter, one vendor says it makes all the difference in the world with fragrance. What does everyone do???? Does it really matter either way?

Thanks in advance!! I'm new to this and need some help!

I agree about reading more.

Ask yourself this - does a pound of feathers or a pound of bricks weigh more?

About the ONLY thing I can think of - which I'm almost sure is not the case, but a pro could step in.. if you weight it then melt it down, maybe a few thousands of an ounce evaporate?

I can't for the life of me figure why you would weigh it before you melt it. I use a presto pot to keep a quantity of raw melted wax on hand while I'm working and I just scoop more into it as I draw some off via the spigot. That said, I most certainly DO weigh it as I draw it off into my pour/mixing pot, since that's where I'll add my FO, color, UV, etc.

I weigh before i melt because I'm working in small quantities in a double boiler. I weigh out what I need, melt it, add the FO - all in the same pot... I don't keep a big amount melted and I only work with one color/fragrance at a time. Course I'm still learning so tell me if I'm doing something wrong here.

Well, we use the Presto pot also, and normally we do each scent at one time, which means weighing the wax BEFORE we put it in the pot, then adding UV, color, FO, then pouring - so that would be the reason we weigh BEFORE we melt.

Occasionally, if we are testing, we melt wax, then weigh into the pour pot and add the rest.

Does it make a difference?? :confused:

Well, we use the Presto pot also, and normally we do each scent at one time, which means weighing the wax BEFORE we put it in the pot, then adding UV, color, FO, then pouring - so that would be the reason we weigh BEFORE we melt.