Cheaper to make several smaller orders for wax than by the case?

Because of the friggin' shipping? I'm thinking of buying a case of Green Leaf 70/30, but shipping is so high because of the weight that I'm wondering if any of you buy smaller quantities and end up paying less overall? I'm a hobbyist, not a retailer, so I don't need as much as you retailers but I still need a good quantity to make Christmas gifts.

Darbla

Not really because usually in buying smaller qty's the price is more expensive per lb since you aren't buying in bulk, so that negates any discount you would get in shipping. Also if you add the individual slabs together with shipping, and then multiply that by how much you would spend on a full case with shipping, I would bet it would come out to probably actually quite a bit more.

At least this has been my experience in doing the math when I have to get wax shipped in. (not very often though, since my wax supplier is local :) )

If I was to order just a slab, I would pay over nine dollars in shipping. If I order a case, I pay $28.00 for shipping 55-60 lbs. So think about it, if I ordered 5 slabs at different times, I'd be paying almost FIFTY dollars in shipping! So uh, yeah, it's better to order the case if you can.

P.S. I think we all agree that shipping SUCKS. But at least we have that option lol

If their shopping cart calculates shipping, you could try mocking up an order for 1 slab, 2 slabs, ... , 1 case to see how the shipping varies. At one point it was cheaper for me to order smaller quantities because the shipping quote more than doubled for a 60 lb case compared with if I ordered 3 slabs (30 lbs).

At one point it was cheaper for me to order smaller quantities because the shipping quote more than doubled for a 60 lb case compared with if I ordered 3 slabs (30 lbs).