Relief Holes

I am new to candlemaking and while I have been reading and testing - I find soooo many differing techniques.

Keep in mind I am still using kits - wax 139 MP blended pillar wax (cierra) and use 1 lb wax with 3tlbs steric acid and 1/2 tsp vybar (wick 2.0 square braid)

Pillars - 3 x 6.5 to 3 x 4.5 either cave and I remelt and repour or I can see marks in well as candle burns where I poked relief holes.

3 x 6.5 round

When I experienced the cave in, I made my relief holes only 1 inch into the wax as indicated and repoured. I performed this process not once but three times and still had a hole in the middle of the candle.

So, I remelted and went to 3 x 4.5

I certainly paid more attention to relief holes and though I tried not to go beyond the recommended 1" I am sure I did somewhat. Again, I repoured three times and kept the holes open longer. Which was not indicated in the books I have read nor instructions I had for the project.

This time, I turned the candle over and burned from the bottom- it is burning well and am now 1/3 into the candle and can see the marks where I poked the relief holes, no caving and I have not cut the candle in half yet - but may have to as time goes on.

My question: technique listed on this site indicates to poke relief holes to within one inch of the overall depth of the candle. Which is it? I rechecked my project insturction and the books I have and no matter the depth of the candle the instruction is to poke only 1 inch.

What am I doing wrong? Perhaps on the second candle with the markings of the relief holes I should have poured hotter than the initial pour or in my case pours.

Votives -(different wax/additives and wick) I can make and not experience problems in making relief holes, and a completing a second pour to satisfaction.

Thanks any info. is appreciated and please recommend reading as well.

Oh, the Avatar - my dog, Hunter.

I think the confusion here is between two different types of instructions.