I need advice on aluminum pillar molds

I've never used them before and am getting ready to order a few. My question is...how do you wick them and do they have a hole in the bottom? I know this is probably a silly question but the ones I've seen don't seem to have the platform on the bottom. I can only imagine using a wick pin but that wouldn't work on the ones with a concave top.

I haven't made pillars in years but my nephew has asked me to make a unity candle for his wedding in a month and I got rid of my molds a long time ago. As a rule, pillars don't sell here but I had several requests last winter so I think I'm gonna add them back and maybe offer three sizes and thought I would go with aluminum to avoid rust.

Thanks in advance for any help ya'll can give me. The pillars in the gallery are a great inspiration!

Hi, I always wick my molds, in case of concave tops I put sealer and metal tape and the mold sit stiil straight. If it's flat I use a lid of something upside down or a couple of chopsticks as "base" and put the mold upon it.

You can use the lid even with the concave tops, if you put a big ball of sealer and the mold bends in some way.

hth

good work!

I've wicked my aluminum pillars both ways. When I don't use a wick pin (for my square molds), I set them on a rack that my husband made so that they remain level. I use a wick pin for my round molds and they work great. They don't affect the concave tops because you are inserting the pin from the outside of the mold.

I use jiffy wickers, much cheaper than buying a bunch of wick pins! OR you can buy some foam and washers from home depot. I use bamboo skewers to secure the wick, no need for expensive bars. I have concave molds and like another poster said put them on a rack so they lay flat. Here is what they look like, but you can make your own for pennies.

http://www.genwax.com/candles/___0___P0069756.htm