Noob

Hi, Chris here. Total noob. Been kicking around the idea of making some candles lately and found my way here. I've been lurking here for a couple of weeks now, just trying to figure out what all is involved (considerably more than I would have thought), and what I need (which I'm still not real sure about). So I thought I'd finally introduce myself, throw a few questions out there, and see if anyone is bored enough to help me out a little bit.

I think I've decided to purchase Peak's container candle starter kit. Seems simple enough, until I start doing a little math. Since it comes with eight 8 ounce tins (which oddly enough only hold 6 ounces of wax each....go figure) I'm going to end up with approximately 122 ounces of leftover wax. What to do with the leftover wax? I'm thinking of pouring it into some half-pint masons. So my first question would be, how much wax will one of these masons hold?

My second question is which wick to use in the masons? The kit comes with 6" 51-32-18Z zinc core wicks. Should I have any problem using those?

Another issue I have is how much FO to use. Is 1 ounce/pound about right? I seem to remember reading about using that ratio with the 4630 wax, but I can't remember for sure.

Any info would be greatly appreciated, and I look forward to getting to know everyone here. :D

Welcome fellow newbie.

You're going to find that people are extremely helpful, bored or not.

The only thing I can answer is the FO question and 1 oz per pound is about right, but anything more than that and they seem to "bleed" or as they say on here have "water spots", so a little less than 1 oz per pound is better. I did my first candles with vanilla and was just barely under 1 oz for a pound and had no problem with amazing scent.

Anyway, don't listen to me. I'm just a newbie.

But the pros on here will be your best resource!

Howdy and welcome to the board :)