Is this a full time Job for you??

I have been soaping and candle making for 3 years. I have a full time day job (to help support my soaping and Candle making Habit) but am starting to get sooo busy with orders. Just wondering how many of you decided to do this full time and when did you decide to take the leap from your "Normal Day time Job" to full time soaping? I am so scared to leave the security of a steady paycheck - Just wondering how the rest of you feel or felt?

I'm strictly a hobbyist right now, but considering trying to make it a full-time job at some point. I'd love to hear from others how they got started, what kind of environment they work in (actual brick-and-mortar store, online only, craft shows, distribution through local merchants, etc.), what things to consider when starting a business, how long it took to become profitable, anything people would like to share.

Full-time here. I love being my own boss.:yay:

Do what you think you will enjoy the most. We only live once. If it is a MUST to have the steady paycheck, just think HARD. Having your own business doesn't guarantee sells.:wink2: But like me, we can live off my dh's income if we needed too, so thats what I looked at when I took that leap.

Good Luck!!!

It's a full time business for me time wise, but we're living off DH's income so we can re-invest everything back in and grow.

But I'm kept very busy. Between making products, filling orders, marketing, website maintenance (both our sites are completely redone, and now active! :yay:), paperwork, taxes, bookkeeping, etc. Yes, it's full time. Some days more than full time! But I love it! If we were to try living off of it right now? It'd be scary. Trying to live solely off a business like this, it's hard. The volumes you'd have to be making and selling is astronomical. I calculated it out once, and was floored.