Frustrated with C3 soy wax...need help

I'm new to making candles and I'm getting so much conflicting information from websites that I'm getting really confused.

I'm using Cargill C3 soy wax but getting very little scent throw; both cold and hot. I heat to 180, add my dye and FO immediately and then pour at 140. Someone had told me that it might be the quality of the FO that I'm using and then I was asking a online customer service representative and she tells me that its the C3 wax that I'm using and I should try another and she suggested Ez Soy-125.

Any suggestions on what I might be doing correctly or incorrectly? :cry2:

i usually do well with most fragrances at 7%. If you are not getting a good throw with at least 7%, you need to switch fragrance suppliers.

The ones I use most are Peaks located in CO and Candlewic located in PA.

to calculate FO percentage, multiply 16oz (1lb) of wax by 7% which gives you 1.12oz of FO.

You need to make sure you have an accurate electronic scale to weigh your wax and FO properly.

For me, its easier if I just start with only 14oz of wax and add 1oz of FO to it (which is about 7%). Keeps things easier rather than having to weigh smaller amounts of FO.

I have only been weighing 1oz of FO per pound of wax. Do you think that extra .12 oz will improve my scent throw?

Someone else had told me about using Peaks FO as well. I'm beginning to think that maybe its the quality of FO that I may have purchased. Since I live in PA I will defintely check out Candlewic since it will be closer for me for shipping. You have used Candlewic as well?

Carrie and Cindy,

Thank you very much for your help. I'm going to go back to the drawing board this weekend and try increasing my FO to 7-8% and allowing them to cure for 3 weeks this time. If that doesn't work then I'm going to try a new vendor for my FO. Actually, I think that I may just go ahead and order some FO from them anyway.

Thanks again for all your help!

Cheryl