Soy questions

I would like to try making soy candles. I have been making container candles for about 4 months using 4786. Since I'm a newbie, I would like to know about how many 8oz. jelly jars I would get from 10 pounds of soy and where the best place is that I could order from. I live in Indiana.

Welcome fellow Hoosier. Where are you in IN? I'm in Leo, north of Ft. Wayne.

To answer your question, I typed in 24 for 8 oz jars into my program and it said you would need 9lb 8.64 oz to do that many jars. I don't know if that is exact but it will give you an idea. I get GB 444 from Gateway foods, but you have to buy 50lbs at a time. Millcreek also sells it so try them for smaller amounts. Gateway is further away from me, but it works out to be a couple dollars cheaper than MC after shipping. Go figure. Millcreek is also good to work with and have some great FO's.

Hi fellow Hoosier. I am in Tipton, about 20 miles south of Kokomo. Thanks for the info. Now I have to get up the nerve to try it. Ha. I'm sure that I will have a lot more questions after I get thru reading everything about soy. Thanks again.

I'm brand new to soy candle making. I can't seem to get a good scent throw in any of my candles. I use Cargill C3 soy wax. I heat to 180, add my color and scent and pour at 140. I add 1 oz to 1 pound of wax.

What am I doing wrong? Is it the brand of fragrance that I'm using? Should I use oil or fragrance (please recommend).

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!!1

You know, I don't know but my GB444 is $52 with shipping. Which I think is about $35.00 per 50#. I haven't seen a real price list from them but the customer service I get is worth staying with them. Kris will do whatever she can to help you. I would recommend calling her to get a quote.