Best wax for Tarts

cestlavielumiere

• 11 months later...

Hello All, As a new person to the board I would like to "bump" this up as I too am looking at making tarts. I understand that each one has a preference to his/her own wax, but I would like to know why. Is it easy to work with or just left over from other candles. How is the hot throw of your tart and does it come out of the mold well... Thanks. Joe:D

since here I can't find all the nice waxes you have there, I tried long time ago with my paraffin, the same I use for pillars. 6% FO, and a pinch of vybar, and my tarts are super strong and last for long. They release easily from molds.

The same wax I use for votives. and they are great throwers. So all in all I think you can use almost any wax.

have fun experimenting!

Just use a pillar/votive wax 2/3 and 1/3 container wax. I use 2/3 4794 and 1/3 6006 or 223. Carole

I'm still pretty new to tart making. May I ask the advantage of mixing these two waxes? I use IGI 4794 only. When blending, at what point do you do this? After it is melted? If before, how do you measure it accurately? Thanks so much.

Nancy

4794 is a little harder and doesn't hold as much FO as 6006 or 223. 4794 is a 2/pour wax and by adding a container wax to it, you can do one pour for your tarts. Straight container wax would not release from the molds. I am getting the "best" from each type of wax. Carole

4794 is a little harder and doesn't hold as much FO as 6006 or 223. 4794 is a 2/pour wax and by adding a container wax to it, you can do one pour for your tarts. Straight container wax would not release from the molds. I am getting the "best" from each type of wax. Carole

Thank you so much for explaining that to me. I wasn't thrilled with the throw I was getting from the 4794, although it is much better than when I used straight paraffin. Can you tell me at what point you blend these? Melted or before? If you do it before, how to you get an accurate measurement?

Nancy