To partner or NOT to partner...that is the question

becky0404

I need some serious advice (good and bad) from anyone who has experience.

I started making candles as a hobby about a year ago. I eventually want to be able to supplement my income by selling them. I showed my best friend how to make them (because she likes them so much and she's my best friend so I wasn't going to have her buy them off me) and now she keeps BEGGING me that we go into business together. I don't think I really want to "share" my new business venture with anyone, but I don't know if it's smarter to partner with someone or not. The shared costs and the shared production appeals to me, but the shared profit doesn't. I'm just so torn.

PLease, I really need some advice on this one. I'm not experienced at all in the business side of things.

Thank you!:yay:

Also, I just wanted to add...

She made a batch herself, and actually sold some at her husbands work. Yes, I was a little peeved, but it's my own fault, I did happily show her how to make them. Now she has people wanting more.

So, WWYD?

Hi, If you really want to than I would try it with a partner... I highly recommend you get a good contract from a good lawyer and operate it like a business. It is hard to go into business with someone else no matter whom it is. All your decisions have to made together all profits have to be shared,all taxes have to be paid, blah, blah, blah..... I personally don't want to have to answer to anyone (except the taxman) that's why I started my OWN business. Good luck with whatever you decide. Do what makes you happy!!

I have not done this but here are somethings that you will need to think about if you are going to have a partner.

Are you going to split everything 50/50? Meanng the cost of supplies, making the candles, selling them, insurance, packaging and so forth? And the profit?