Made my first 2 batches of CP...also looking for.....

AkainePSP

Well I made my first small batch of CP this past friday and I think it turned out ok.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/62855126@N00/

I made my second batch today and I hope it turns out. I think it will but since this is only my second try I'm a little leary. Just newbie jitters I guess. There are pics of that in the link too. I will post more pics after I cut it.

Since I am new to this can anyone direct me to images of problem soap. For example what does it mean when you say it seized up on me and what does it look like. I just want this for reference.

I have seen lots of photos of some beautiful soaps but now that I'm doing this myself I want to see soap that I don't want if that makes sense.

Thanks

Kelly

It looks good! As far as the pictures of when something goes wrong, I can't help you with those. Acceleration means that when you add the fragrance oil, it traces faster than normal. This can sometimes happen when using a water discount (which is probably something you haven't even thought of yet, LOL).

Ricing is just that. When you add your FO, it looks like rice. This can usually be fixed by stick blending well. I have only ever had one batch rice on me so bad it couldn't be saved.

You will learn as you go. This board is a great place for answers as well.

Steph

Thanks for the compliments they are very encouraging. I started out with M&P back in Sept 06. I like it but I think I like the CP even better. Almost to the point that I may just keep doing the CP. I appreciate all of the info I can get.

You're right I'm not even thinking about water discount since I have never heard of it before.

Currently I have tried 1 recipe and I used it for both batches. The only difference is the first batch was much smaller.

http://www.pvsoap.com/recipe_sheasoap_washcloth.htm