Need advice on wicks

I have been making candles for about 7 months now and have tried different wicks and containers. Now that I am getting short on cash due to all the testing, I thought I would ask advice before I waste anymore of my ol' mans cash. I am using baby food jars and C-3 soy wax in some and parriffin in others. The dye I use is blocks. And I get fragrences from Candlesource.com. The wicks I bought from SS Country Dreams Co on ebay. The sizes I have tried are 3" RRD29 and 3" 36-24-24z and some other one I bought from ebay with my soy kit. I either get mushroomed wicks while burning or the wick burns down to fast and has a melt pool of about the size of a dime and goes out by the wax. My 2 questions are. What size wicks should be used for this size jar? The baby food jars are 4 oz. and the other question is, if I bought wicking on a spool is there a web sight I can find out how to wax them I would like to wax my own wicks to save money. I have tried to look it up but I guess I was having a blonde moment that day because I couldn't find it. LOL Any ideas? Please help!

When I was using the C-3 wax CD wicks worked best for me, I was very successful though with the C-3 so I ended up switching wax and now I am on my 3rd switch and I am finally happy 18 months later. testing and candle making is not a cheap hobby lol