Weak Flames... help!

OK, I am a newbie, so please bear with me. I have been trying to wick my 16oz apothecary jar. The CD 22 was too small so I went to double wicking with 2 CD12's. The entire first half of the candle burned beautifully, great scent throw, full melt pool in about 1.5 hrs (seemed a little fast), good size flame, but half way through the candle the flames got weaker and weaker until they finally fizzled out. Do you know what would be causing this? I'm not sure where to go from here as far as wicking. I am using EL Millenium blend Soy and 1 oz of FO. I only used 4 drops of color.

The weak flames tell me wick up? but with a full mp in under two hours on a 4" diameter candle, I'm thinking it would be too much?

One possibility is that because I remelted this candle to rewick and then repoured, is it possible that the fo settled and is clogging the wick??

Any suggestions would be appreciated... thanks!

It sounds like double wicking is your cure but with smaller wick sizes than the CD 12's. CD's get hot fast, at any rate. I have not experimented with apothecary jars of that size but just know from experience with other jars that smaller wick sizes are better when it comes to double wicking. Maybe size down a bit with two wicks... Apothecaries are known to be wide so you probably can't hope to use one wick, at any rate.

I had a problem with my votives a while back and there is a lady I buy CD wicks from on Ebay whom I swear by- she sells samples of CD and LX wicks. If it weren't for her, I would never have solved my votive issues. Now I have clean-burning votives all the time because I was able to buy quantities that allowed me to test without breaking my pocketbook- a minimum of one wick per sample at around 6 - 8 cents each plus minimal shipping.

Good luck!:cheesy2:

Ah, this is the tricky part.