mp soap vs. cp soap

cjrhsk

Hi, I'm new to soap making and have been reading on this forum for awhile. You have given me the confidence that I can do this. I haven't bought anything yet. I've also read some other websites on soaping too. I've heard good things about both these types of soaps. From what I understand, the cp soap is natural. So does that mean the mp is not? If it's not, what's in it that's not. (I'm certainly not trying to start any controversy like soy vs. paraffin.) I would like to sell soap eventually, but need to know what to tell someone who asks the difference. I see you can buy many types of nice bases for mp soap that already have good ingred. in them. Is it that they just did all the work for you so it's more expensive to make soap that way? I tried to do a search on here with this title but came up empty. I want to start soaping soon and will probably do both. But I can't for the life of me get that nagging question out of my mind. I appreciate any help to understand I can get. Thanks.

Janet

Janet:

M&P soap- this is a base where the soap is already made. You cut it up, melt it, add whatever you want to add, color if you wish, add fragrance oil/ essential oil, pour it, let it dry.

Benefits:

1) You can sell it immediately. No drying time. (after testing, of course)

2) You do not have to mess with lye.

3) You usually use less fragrance oil compared to CP soap.

4) It is very user friendly.

5) If you mess up or do not like it you can remelt it.

Possible downfalls:

1) The ingredients in the M&P (base) you have no control over.

2) There are chemicals that are added to allow you to melt and pour it.

CP Soap- This is soap that is made from scratch. No bases used. You are making soap because you choose your oils, fats, or butters, and find out how much lye and water you need to turn your oils into soap.

Benefits:

1) You have complete control of what your soap has in it.