wickless or tarts for throw

Kassandra

After being dissappointed in the throw in a lot of my tarts, I've decided to to go wickless to see if there is a difference in throw. I am thinking there will be, as there is a larger pool of melted max and also more volume of wax. Does anyone do both tarts and wickless, and do you find the throw of wickless to be much better? Does the strength (watts) of the wamer matter quite a lot? TIA, Kass

In my newbie uneducated opinion... they are pretty much the same. I only make the tarts so far, but I only use burners with the larger pots, and I use wide mouthed containers on the warmer...so I feel I'm getting just as much melt pool. I guess it does make sense that a wickless candle fully melted would give off more scent, but I'm not experienced in this yet.

I would also think that you would want a lower watt warmer... TOO hot would burn it off before it had a chance to really permeate an area for very long. But having said that, I'm not aware of that many different wattages. There are coffee mug warmers and there are candle jar warmers. I think the mug one is 25 ish watts? and the candle one is 17? Not sure, but I think for safety I will stick with the one meant for candles.

Maybe you already have, but I would try a different wax or FO. Sadly not all wonderful smelling FO's do ANYTHING in a pool of hot wax but sit right there in it.:undecided

Thanks, all, useful information! Actually burning the FO with a wick is sometimes the only way to get good throw sometimes...? Because the FO is being consumed as the wax burns off, so I guess those are two different things going on. It's always more complicated than it first appears, lol. And to think I started at this to save money. Now THAT is funny!