Help...how Do You Know....

If you have fragrance oil overload in a candle? The reason I ask is....I am pouring up jar candles, using pre-blended paraffin wax and 1oz of FO per pound. I am heating up to 175 and adding FO....all seems well and then after the second pour to top it 48 hours later, it seems that there are little dark spots (water marks) or wet dots on the side of the jar in random places. The wax has separated from the jar so it clanks around , if I tilt the jar one way the dark spot disappears and when I tilt it back the spot is there and is liquid. Is that a fragrance pool ? Or .....help....how can you tell? Does it sink to the bottom if it is overload? How long does it take for the fragrance to separate.....I don't want to sell a dangerous candle.. Any help would be appreciated at this point. Maybe I am being PARANOID!!!

Thanks in advance,

Denise :grin2:

Denise, I'm a container newbie myself but it sure doesn't sound good. Not sure what type of preblend you are using. I use J223 and have never had my wax clank around in a container. Sure sounds like FO. Do the wax specs call for a 6% FO load? What FO did you use? Some have to be stirred longer. Not sure I would even do a test burn on it.

Maybe someone with some experience will chime in.

Wow, are you sure you used a container wax, container waxes usually stay soft and ahere to the sides of the jar, where as yours seem to have shrunk. Please let us know what wax it is that you are using, it will help us help you. Different waxes can hold differnt amounts of FO. The suppliers site usually gives the the load limits for the wax.

* Production Pre-Blended Votive/Tart Wax - Hassle Free from Candles & Supplies