Help With Scent!!!

I own an online craft consignment shop that I recently started. I decided to start making candles to sell. I am new at this and am using Paraffin wax. My candles smell okay but nothing to brag about. I have another crafter that does Soy and her candles are AMAZING!!! They smell SO good! I get all my items from Cierra Candles. I use 1lb CW129 wax, 1 oz. scent, and 1 tsp. vybar. I don't want my fo to separate from the wax so I don't want to use too much. I make votives, tarts, and containers. Can anyone give me suggestions?

Lisa

I updated this post with all the details. Anyone?? :-)

Hi Lisa, and Welcome to the wonderful addiction of Candle Making!

I have a few questions for you: What type of wax, specifically, are you using? Is it a hard wax? Does it already contain an additive? Is your Fragrance from a Supplier or a craft store?

Depending on the type of wax, you may be able to add up to 1 1/2 ounces of fragrance per pound of wax. If the wax you are using is a "pre-blend" wax it may already have the additives you need. If that's the case, your vybar may be binding the fragrance into the wax, preventing the fragrance from actually throwing.

Also, where your fragrance come from is very important. Most craft store fragrances are not as strong as fragrances you will find at a Candle Making Supplier. For a list of suppliers, check out the links page here:http://www.candletech.com/links/Candle_Making_Supplies/

How soon after making your candle did you burn it? If you made it yesterday and burned it last night, it may be possible that you have candle nose. (Your nose is still aclimated to the smell and not as sensitive to it.)

I hope that helps some. Welcome to Candletech, you'll love it here!

Happy Candle Making!

Jessi & Jeri

AAA Candle Supply, Inc

Thanks for your quick replies.