basic recipe vs melt and pour soap

RXCMAS

Just wondering which of the two you prefer to use 1. melt & pour soap or make your own soap rom scratch?

Please explain the differences and why?

Which is better than the other?

I am a newbie so that is why i am asking questions and learning from you all. Thank you for being so helpful, i appreciate it.

stacey:cheesy2:

I make melt and pour because I love it, and because I am too chicken to try CP, even though it looks SO cool. I am just afraid of lye, and I am not patient. I could never wait for it to cure.

MP and lots of advantages, but then, so does CP.

Welcome to CT :)

I'm sure you have lots of questions about candles and B&B and will have many more. All of them are welcome. May I suggest though, doing a search on key questions, reading the FAQs and Newbie threads and reading through old posts(especially the archives of the old board). You will find much helpful info there and probably answers to questions you haven't even thought of yet. :)

I am still new to soaping myself but have been doing both, CP and M&P. Others can add a lot more to this, but what I've learned (and can remember) so far...

M&P is very simple. You can use a lot of different, cute molds. There are a few things you can add to it, but not as many as CP. It doesn't like having butters/oils added, but things like oatmeal and clays work fine. It tends to sweat when first unmolded and needs to be wrapped and sealed in plastic. There are a variety of bases, from goats milk to aloe to hemp, ets. There's also the clear bases. This is the only way you can get a clear soap. Many M&P bases can be a bit drying to the skin, though you can adjust it some. Most don't have a lot of lather.