Tried the Search, Complete Newbie ?

Hey there, Im hosting a baby shower for my sister, and I am trying to make some candles for the shower...

I am going to use baby food jars, the 4 oz size. I am hoping to use the oils to scent the wax with that smells like Baby Powder...

I found a few sites that sell this, but I am wondering..is it safe to put "oil" in where a flame is? Won't this cause a fire? How do you add fragerance to wax without it being a fire hazard? Sorry if this was covered somewhere on the board, but I couldn't find it.

Does anyone know the temperature at which a candle burns? I looked for that one too....thanks!!

OH also, is it safe to use glass to make scented candles inside???

-ME:grin2:

Hey there, Im hosting a baby shower for my sister, and I am trying to make some candles for the shower...

Hope you have enough time to get the supplies you need, make some and thoroughly test them before the shower... it's not quick or easy ;)

I am going to use baby food jars, the 4 oz size. I am hoping to use the oils to scent the wax with that smells like Baby Powder...

I found a few sites that sell this, but I am wondering..is it safe to put "oil" in where a flame is? Won't this cause a fire? How do you add fragerance to wax without it being a fire hazard? Sorry if this was covered somewhere on the board, but I couldn't find it.

If you but quality Candle Fragrance Oils, yes, it's perfectly safe. That's what they're designed for. It's not like having oil floating in the candle. You mix it in while the wax is liquid, they bind together and when it cools, it's becomes solid scented wax.

Does anyone know the temperature at which a candle burns? I looked for that one too....thanks!!

Personally, no, I don't know. Is there a reason you need to know the temp?

OH also, is it safe to use glass to make scented candles inside???