HURRICANE..what am I doing wrong??

Well, I am new to this, but when it wasn't working, I read posts in the archives for the last two years. What stood out to me was the temp of the wax. Sharyl has helped me and others agree 200 degrees is best. I agree. When I heated it up just a bit it made all the difference in the world. Are you using just plain hurricane wax with no additives? Can you post a pic then we can see it better. Donita

I did notice that temperature is very important. For me, 180-185 turned out to be the magic number., but the ideal temperature might vary depending on your wax plus any additives and your technique. Just go by your results and adjust in the appropriate direction to find it.

My initial problem was actually too high a pouring temp. Made it hard to stick the photo and keep it stuck for long enough to get into the water bath. I could have just waited a few minutes and maybe had success, but in the heat of the moment (so to speak) you don't always do the right thing.

One more thought in case it helps. I think it's a good idea to print the photo well in advance so that it has plenty of drying time. Prevents getting moisture in the wax and seems to cut down on bubbles a lot. Also give it ample time to become saturated with wax.

And remember, it doesn't matter what your pouring temp is if you still have wax between the mold and the picture. You have to work out all the wax and air bubbles between the picture and the mold or you won't have a clear picture. I use a few skewers to "press" the wax and air bubbles out, just run my skewer from the center out, both ways till I see no more bubbles releasing from the side. Don't give up, it will turn out.