Best Means of Advertising

I was wondering what everyone thought was their best means of advertising...website....word of mouth....flyers.....brochures...shows? I am just starting out but I don't have that "salesman" personality or charm. Really, I guess I would go more with the "quiet and shy" so I mostly sell to co-workers, friends and family. I also don't have a website.

when i started selling candles, i started with swap meets and craft shows. Word of mouth slowly started and thus a large customer base. You might also try your bank, post office and beauty salon. I've done quite well at these places.

I was wondering what everyone thought was their best means of advertising...website....word of mouth....flyers.....brochures...shows? I am just starting out but I don't have that "salesman" personality or charm. Really, I guess I would go more with the "quiet and shy" so I mostly sell to co-workers, friends and family. I also don't have a website.

Buttloads here too - everything from:

Telephone book (with cool coupons and color ad - never got ONE coupon back)

Local paper (with coupon - hardly any response)

Radio (good Lord, this one is really a waste of time)

Town brochure (we all chip in and get an ad)

Restaurant placemats (ugh, don't bother)

Best advertisement by far is word of mouth, but I also recommend participating in fundraisers, conventions, goody bags and local shows put on by your town.

By far, the cheapest and BEST form of advertising I have seen in the 4 years I have been doing business.

I agree with Jenny's comments about advertising. New business needs visibility and accessibility. You may call your local and surrounding Chambers to see what activities you could be a vendor at. Spend an extra dime and get a distinctive "Trademark" looking gift bag for your product. Maybe everyone will want one.

A few more ideas...........