Preservative Info!

Bunny

Ok ya'll.. I re-did the preservative information and hopefully made it much easier to read! Here's the scoop:

I'll leave this link up for a few days, and then you can go the soap and B&B FAQ near the top of the main page on the boards to find it!

http://www.candletech.com/forums/showthread.php?p=199218#post199218

Please note, a few of the numbers that were in the last sheet are incorrect. I complied the first sheet from various suppliers, instead of going direct to the source. It'll never happen again!

• 11 months later...

Hi Bunny,

I'm new at making this stuff and am trying to figure out about preservatives. From reading your post, I gathered that I can use Liquapar Optima for both oil-based products (scrubs, butters) as well as water-based products (lotions, creams). The description saids:

In aqueous systems, a co-solvent or surfactant may be needed to help solubilize the preservative.

what does the following mean?

Would truly appreciate any help.

• 4 years later...
  • 3 months later...

The European Community is at the moment reaching some decisions on the permitted levels of preservatives.

Probably the most stable and useful preservative that has been used by the industry is parabens. There has been some negative marketing against it, but parabens is recognised at the moment officially as safe when used at no more than the limit (which is 0.4%, by the way). I have found that 0.3% parabens gave a shelf life of 10 months so far for the first creams I formulated.

So called 'natural' preservatives can in fact be unsafe. For instance, sodium benzoate has been implicated as a producer of benzene, a carcinogen, in soft drinks. Creams that contain ascorbic acid (vitamin C) could have the same problem. My own take on the problem is to look for a more modern preservative system, which I may have found, price permitting.

Hi Bunny,