Wicking the Bulb 15 oz. Jars from The JarStore

Firstly, let me say that I am new to candle making. That being said I have been trying to figure out which wick/wicks to use in the 15 oz Bulb jars from the JarStore, and am having a really hard time with it. I am currently using the Greenleaf 70/30 (which I really like so far) and the C-3 wax that Lone Star carries. I have tried the Eco 10 through 14 from Lone Star; they work but develop really large mushrooms. Also, I have tried the a single CD 12 and double wicking CD 7s ... The 7's ended up drowning, and the 12 burnt kind of fast. I have also tried the hemp wicks (all single, and double wicking the smallest) from Natures Garden. So far, I find that the middle hemp wick produces the best melt pool, but has a tendency to mushroom. I have a sampler of the LX wicks coming, so they may be my salvation :)

I guess my question is, after all that rambling, has anyone else tried using these jars? Also which wick/wicks turned out the best? Lastly, with a container that changes diameter as the candle burns am I to expect mushrooms and other small wick problems to occur?

Thanks

Aithin

I'm working on trying to wick the 9 oz bulb jar with the GL 70/30 and their pure soy. So far I have tried LX 14, and 16 double wicked and melt pool is still too small. My next is to try LX-18 double wicked and some cottons I have on hand. I don't know the diameter of your jar but you may end up double wicking also.

I also just recieved my 15 oz bulb jar from the jar store but I havn't started testing yet. I was planning to start with an HTP 83. I use HTP 73 with several other slightly smaller jars and they work well for me. The wax I use is Joywax from NG. I haven't tried the hemp wicks. I'd be ineterested to hear what works for you. I love the bulb jars.

• 2 months later...