It's Bohunk Time!

Well, got the kiddo off to school, DH off to work, and the dogs/cat/fish fed.

It's Bohunk Time!:yay:

This is my first attempt but will NOT be my last. This stuff is simply divine! I mixed some sugars to give it a different texture, and used SNC's White Ginger & Amber. I cut the original recipe 80% and still have four 8 oz containers as well as two 2 oz containers. I may sub some different oils next time for so far I'm just pleased as punch.

Now if y'all will excuse me I'm off to take a nice looooooooooong shower!

[ATTACH]4491[/ATTACH]

post-2475-139458392387_thumb.jpg

After a sugar scrub cools does it get harder? I made some a week ago and it is very stiff in the jar now. I don't mind its not hard to use or anything but wondered if I put too much sugar in. Used the amt called for in recipe but subbed 1/2 cup with demara sugar. First scrub I tried.

Glo

So far mine is still nice and soft, I'll let you know how it looks/feels tomorrow. I used the Bohunk's #14 recipe. I used 3 oz of demerara sugar then just added white sugar until I liked the consistency (about 2 more oz). I like a real scrubby scrub this time of year, come summer I'll probably not use the demerara.

Bohunk's recipe does tend to harden a bit after a day or two. It is just the nature of the recipe. I have found that by using softer oils it doesn't get quite so hard. I have never used coconut oil and did not care for the palm kernel oil either. I whip my up for 30-45 minutes and it has nice soft peaks. It still hardens a bit, but not like it did before. I also watch how much sugar I use. If I get too much it gets like paste.

Ann

Ok, here is my problem, I have been relunctant to try either scrub bcz I suck at percentages and the recipes call for %, can someone help me decipher the recipes in to oz. etc. I don't care which recipe it is at this point, or both would work also

Thanks

Michelle