Blenders Needed!

Cynna

I've been working on a project for a year now (well, more like I worked on it for two weeks and got frustrated and sidelined it) and I realized I'm not good at this, so I'm putting out a plea for good blenders who know a thing or two about notes.  I would like to work with someone local, but at this point any advice is helpful.  I'm trying to develop "gemstone" scents that stick to the florals and elements associated with the stones.  They aren't always the greatest combinations and make blending a real chore.  The problem is even when I can find a workable blend, there's something missing from them.  I picked up some samples of things like Floral Aldehyde, Pink Peppercorn, Ozone, etc. but I am not good with notes at all and don't really know what to use when to get things to really mesh.  The blending charts are great, the problem is I'm not just making up scents, I'm working with a limited list of what is associated with the stones.  For example, the working blend I have for Opal is Water Lily and Sandalwood.  It has a nice powdery quality to it, the problem is it's missing something to really pull it together.  The same with Garnet - Cinnamon and Rose.  It sounds like it would be a fantastic scent, but it isn't (I tried several types of cinnamon scents including a dry apothecary version and a sweet one).  I'm open to adding an element to give it that final kick, I just don't know what it is (I know it'll vary from combo to combo).  A lot of the scents we know and love are layered with so many notes that we'd never expect to be in there, and I think that's where I'm falling short.  This is an intensive process, and I would really love to partner with someone with some background knowledge and a good nose.  I make jewelry in addition to wax melts, and I really want to make samples of wax melts for the birthstones to send along with jewelry purchases.  This whole project was actually inspired by a customer who makes subscription boxes and wa