Single-note, non-blended fragrance oils + best supplier or manufacturer?

Scentsory

Hello everyone. I'm new to candle making and want to use only the most premium fragrance oils. First of all, does anyone have recommendations for a *premium quality* fragrance oil supplier? I can see from comments that there are some low quality suppliers. Second, do any of the top quality suppliers sell single-note, non-blended fragrance oils? For example, musk or gardenia or rose that is only musk or gardenia or rose and not a blend of several fragrance oils. I would like to blend my own unique scents using single notes and am seeking the purest version of each scent. Looking for answers from longtime candle and soap makers. Thank you kindly.

Edited by Scentsory

• Scentsory changed the title to Single-note, non-blended fragrance oils + best supplier or manufacturer?

You have to get samples. There are a million types of musks, roses etc. Each manufacturer has their own blend of single note scents. Get samples and see how you’re the representation of the note, then blend. Each fragrance will perform differently in products as each manufacturer formulates differently to get scent. It’s not as simple as buy here.

• Like 1

For this specific type of goal, you’ll need to seek an account with a fragrance compounding lab, like lebermuth, Agilex, Symrise, etc. that have perfumers on staff to help isolate the aromachemicals that will work for your candles. Typically the minimum buy of compounds and finished fragrances will be in the 25 lb neighborhood. 

at the same time, join a perfumery guild to find aromachemical blending classes available. The perfumers apprentice is an online source of the base aromachemicals, some carriers and is a decent starting place.