Wicking a 3” dia vessel w/ coco apricot

Lawlaw410

Hey guys! I’m pretty new to candle making and have run my first cycle of tests on multiple vessels. So far, I’m only doing wax with no dye or FO to get a baseline wick/wax/container combo established. 

I can’t get a full melt pool with coco apricot wax using an Eco12 or a CD4. Ideally, I’d like to stick to a single wick for these containers. The sizes of vessels I’ve tried with both eco 12 and cd4 are 3 1/2” high x 3 1/8” diameter and the other is slightly smaller in diameter at       3 1/2” high x 3” diameter. 
I did get a full melt pool on both containers with Coco 83 coconut wax however. 

Basically, what I’d really like to know is are there any other types wicks appropriate for coconut waxes? (except for wood) 

I have soy candles from Spiritual and Paid that are single wick and the first container I’ve mentioned is actually one of theirs from an old candle I’ve burned. They burn evenly and fully, so I’m super curious as to what they use. I know I’m kind of all over the place, but any guidance would be totally appreciated! Thank you!!

Edited by Lawlaw410

• Lawlaw410 changed the title to Wicking a 3” dia vessel w/ coco apricot

For coconut wax is I never aim for a full melt pool. Never.

A full melt pool is a limit not a goal.

If you get a full melt pool at the top of the jar it will be dangerously hot very quickly further down.

Using bigger wicks also means it burns more fuel so if you want more m pool wick down. It sounds counterintuitive but it’s true. Heat from the flame melts the wax, a smaller “straw” does not draw up so much fuel so excess is left as a pool. 

coco apricot wax (ceda cerica) does very well as a long long but omg candle in that size jar by not hitting full melt pool until the last 1/2” of wax at the bottom. The sides gently weep the hang up wax from the sides throughout the whole burn and provide fresh scented wax the entire burn. 

5 hours ago, TallTayl said: