Wick Size and Lemon FOs

Hi everybody, I've been making candles for a little over 4 years, and I've still never found a lemon fragrance that I like the smell of while burning. The cold throw will be lovely, and then change while burning. I am wondering if you have had experience with this and if you've found that wicking smaller/differently helps. I use mainly coco/soy blend waxes and ECO, HTP and CD/CDN wicks. I generally try to wick quite conservatively, but I'm starting to notice that I have less of the "icky" smell with SUPER tiny wicks. Tiny as in, so tiny you need to double-wick a 3 inch interior-diameter vessel. Anyone have thoughts or experience with this?

I don't use your wax but with soy I wick down 1 size for the heavy citrus or straight citrus to avoid a fuel smell.  I use cotton core wicks but the A&P series 60C or 62C in a 3.25" jar.  I love citrus scents so use them a lot.  Lemon Biscotti was one of my favorite scents when I could get it back in the day!

I don't know why, but the only wax that works for my citrus scents is 6006. I wick down and it's not uber strong, but just about passable for me without going into the fuel smell realm.as long as I don't go over 8% FO or it smells like butthole.

I also noticed that different wick series helps too. For me, HTP is the least offensive fuel smeller with citrus.

Two things to try... vanilla or patchouli. Both tend to change the burn just enough to make the citrus fuel less of an issue in most of my waxes. It does not take a lot, sometimes as little as a partial %.

fo lemon, I have used aroma haven/ rustic essentials Lemon Verbena in all of my waxes for a decade.  Never once got a fuel note.  

for orange, blood orange patchouli at daystar is a dupe of one I loved from the scent works long ago. It is a little more challenging to wick, but when you get it right it is heavenly. 

editing to add, ah/Re fresh squeezed orange is another that blended well in candles for me with no fuel. 

• Like 2