Coconut wax and wicking progress!

I started playing with coconut wax about a month ago but was having a terrible time wicking. From reading different threads on this forum I knew my wicking was way off. I kept reading and kept trying. From this forum I discovered the company 16/17 and fell in love with their containers. I read their wick suggestions for EC-26 and ceda-serica. I purchased a few sizes of their wick samples and it worked! The wicks are actually self trimming, I have a lovely steady flame, and no soot. It feels so good to finally have a beautiful candle. Now I can’t wait experiment with some other containers.

Some details...

Container holds 13oz 
Wax: 11.7oz EC-26

Wick: triple wicked CDN 3

FO @ 10% (1.3oz)

Some other notes - I’m making this as a house warming gift for my brother and SIL. For their new home (very open and airy floor plan)I think the amount of fragrance will be perfect. For my own use, will probably try out 6%. 

4B9B1D92-EFB4-493E-9C85-E2AC774FC9C5.jpeg

• Thumbs Up 1

The problem you're going to have is that wax relies on you using a stupidly high fragrance load 'as is', so if you tried using a sensible amount of FO like 6% then you would need much smaller wicks because the flame would be a lot bigger, and you'd have a very hard time finding something small enough for that wax if you were going for the 'self trim' approach. You'd have to add some soy to tame it down, which would kill the hot throw even more and that's not a good idea for this wax because it already struggles with a lot of fragrance types.