GW444 Crater Issues

Hi all,

I'm brand new to candle making and this forum and was just wondering if I am doing something wrong here. After my first burn test for about 3 hours, I noticed these craters in the wax after it cooled. Is this normal and is there anything that can be done to prevent them? Before burning, the top was almost perfectly smooth even without using a heat gun. 

This was my process: Heated the 444 to 185, added 8% F.O. (lavender and fraser fir equal parts) at 160, poured at 135 into 8oz tin using a wooden wick. I then let the candle set for 24 hours before burning (I'm thinking this may have been the issue as I've read they are suppose to cure for 1-2 weeks before burning?) I chose not to add the F.O. at the recommended 185 after reading a lot of conflicting information about scent burning off while the wax is cooling and some experienced candle makers adding their fragrances as low as 110, but then fragrance possibly not binding to the wax so I thought I'd try a happy medium of 160.  Anyway, it's looking pretty rough like this so any tips are more than appreciated. I should say I'm only interested in using soy and not paraffin or parasoy blends. Thanks in advance.

0730201705_Film2.jpg

Hello and welcome.

that look is typical for soy waxes, like 444, especially with wood wicks.

24 hours is definitely not long enough of a cure time with soy, especially 444.

my issues with 444 also included large cavities under the surface all the way down the wick.

6 minutes ago, TallTayl said:

Hello and welcome.

that look is typical for soy waxes, like 444, especially with wood wicks.

24 hours is definitely not long enough of a cure time with soy, especially 444.

my issues with 444 also included large cavities under the surface all the way down the wick.

Thanks for the tips! Is there another soy wax you'd recommend besides the 444? This is the first wax I purchased and I only got a 10 pound bag so I do plan to experiment with other waxes.