Environmentally friendly Wax

Hi everyone!

I'm new to the candle making world, and I'm trying to decide what type of wax to use. Ideally, I would like to use the most environmentally friendly wax possible, but am having a difficult time with this. When using a lot of the Soy and Coconut waxes (either 100% natural or blends), I've found that many of these waxes will still contain paraffin or other ingredients that don't fit the aesthetic of being as eco-friendly as possible. On top of that, a lot of proprietary blends do not list their ingredients, which makes sense as they are proprietary, but also gives me pause as I'm not 100% sure that there wouldn't be paraffin or palm oil in the blends. Does anyone have any recommendations on a good soy or coconut wax to use that is the most safe? We've used Ultra Wax coconut blend from General Candle, and the staple 464 that seems to be super popular, but we just don't know how eco-friendly they really are. Any recommendations or advice on what to would be extremely helpful. We don't want to mislead our customers if we're not actually using a completely eco-friendly wax like we're marketing...

Thanks in advance!

Hi and welcome!

What wax is the most eco friendly is kind of a philosophical question. None are if you think about it.  there’s a cost to growing, harvesting, extracting, stabilizing, packaging and distributing the wax. a lot depends on where you are, and how that wax gets to you. All are about equally good and bad as far as carbon footprint and such.  In the end, paraffin is probably one of the least troubling as it is using a super cleaned, inert fraction of petroleum oil from waste that is already being produced, versus throwing it away as garbage. It is made of plants and dinosaurs so it is as “natural” as soy.

Palm wax gets a terrible rap thanks to the soy lobby.  It is a wonderful natural wax and is less damaging to the planet than soy.