% composition of Northwood Coconut + 464 Candle Science Soy

Hi Everyone!

I am looking for a leg while I start to test and hoping folks who have experience working with mixing Coconut (From Northwood Candle Supply) and 464 GB (from candlescience) can help!

Can folks weigh in on what % of coconut to 464 works best? 

What wick series would work best to avoid burning? 

Best,

:) dee 

Hi Dee,

I just went through this myself - approx 2 months of testing and experimenting with different %s and wicks. As I'm fairly new to candle making myself.  Many will recommend and I found out that you have to put quite of bit of soy into coconut to make it "wickable" and soot preventable. I don't get my coconut wax from NW, so the burn properties may vary somewhat. I do use GW 464 soy though. To give you a jump start I would try 70/30% coconut to soy and you will probably need to go up from there. You may also want to take into consideration - hot weather temps. Soft coconut will have a higher chance of melting during shipping. Soy will harden the wax even more and lessen the chances of that occurring.

Wick sizes vary on your candle jar diameter and pay attention to your jars to see if they have a taper. The taper will make a difference in sizing. I found that CD and CDN wicks have worked the best for me. Others here found luck with or prefer a different type.  

Finally, be sure to experiment, the info above is a big leg up to get started. Be aware there is no quick and easy trick to candle making - as many of us here can attest to :)!  I've learned a lot from trial and error and the help I've received here. Hopefully, this info works out for you!!! :) - Candlefriends

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

Hi! Thanks so much for this feedback. :)@Candlefriends And sorry I am so late on the response, I did not see this! 

I've done a ton of testing and found that I work best with 464 (90%) and 10% Coconut.