Babassu oil as replacement for Coconut?

sarahmarah

I’m new to soap making and I’m reading up on oils with the goal of creating my first recipe. I see that coconut oil is a hugely popular but I’m trying to opt out of using it a lot because I know so many people with tree but allergies.

I’ve read Babassu oil is a good substitute but that it can speed trace? Is it a beginner friendly oil? I’d love to hear what you think of it.

thanks!

Babassu is very similar to coconut, but with a prettier name and higher price tag. Def buy a small amount to try with your formula just to see for yourself. We all go through the exotic oils as a right of passage, then settle back to familiar staples for the long haul, after realizing we can’t please everyone, we make what we like and stop catering to the fringes. 

plus, Being able to swap out oils with market condition changes makes us more agile manufacturers. 

• Like 2
  • Thanks 2

Also nuts! Babassu palm, (Attalea martiana, A. oleifera, or A. speciosa), tall palm tree with feathery leaves that grows wild in tropical northeastern Brazil. The kernels of its hard-shelled nuts are the source of babassu oil, similar in properties and uses to coconut oil and used increasingly as a substitute for it. Brittanica.com

You could do an olive oil soap. One ingredient. This will be low lather but you could add sodium lactate to firm it up, some beeswax or stearic also. Some sugar for bubbles.

There is a chart somewhere online that someone made soaps of single oils and it lists all properties. I think it’s on Flickr. Here is some additional soapmaking info

Here is the link. First is the recipe then scroll to see photos how each bar behaves

also this

http://curious-soapmaker.com/big-test-100-one-oil-soaps-part-i.html

Lather Lovers Swap 2012

Lather Lovers Swap 2012 Formula

• Thanks 1