The Wooden Wick Co

I have always wanted to try out wooden wicks. I’ve never ordered from here before till now. I bought 2 kits from them which I really had a hard time cause it was $100 for 4 candles but I thought that since it’s in a kit they sell I shouldn’t have to worry about which wick and wax etc. to buy. I have been making candles for 15 years now but have zero experience with wooden wicks. They are horrible! They won’t stay lit. I’ve had to relight constantly. I’ve only tried 2 of the 4 I made. After lighting over and over one will stay lit for a while but just barely. The other one is tunneling and worse than the first one. There definitely isn’t any crackle. Any thought or suggestions would be super appreciated. Is there something I may have done wrong? Thanks so much for any help! 

I learned with wooden wicks:

1) I have to “prime” them.  I stick them in the melter as the wax melts and periodically hold them at the bottom of the pot until they stop pushing air bubbles.  When I don’t do that I experience inconsistent burns like you spdescribe.

2) you need to light from the bottom of the wick to give them some fuel to get going. If you only light the wood part it will char an limit the capillary action for the next few millimeters.

3) when relighting it helps to remove the charred bit from the last burn before lighting. 

4) if they look like they are petering out as it burns, whack off some of the char.

i started and stopped with wooden wicks at least eleventeen times.  Am loving them right now in my wax blends. 

• Like 4

4 hours ago, TallTayl said:

1) I have to “prime” them.  I stick them in the melter as the wax melts and periodically hold them at the bottom of the pot until they stop pushing air bubbles.  When I don’t do that I experience inconsistent burns like you spdescribe.