HELP - Coconut Wax & Wicks

Hogue

Hello, I am new to candle making and have been reading all the topics on coconut wax and I still feel like I haven’t figured out a solid answer. 

I use coconut wax 83 from California candle supply. 

I’m having such a hard time finding the right wick. I’m currently using eco 4. Diameter of my jar is 2.25”. The first burn was great, the second burn the flame was big and there is now soot on the jar. I have read in here I need to size down, but how far down? I seen other people were mixing soy or stearic acid. Did anyone find a way to just use the coconut 83 wax the way it is? The large flame and soot is so discouraging. I also order 45 more lbs of this wax, so I need to make it work. 

I appreciate any help!!

Eco are pretty hot wicks. I have gone as low as eco1 in that size jar. 
Other choices for wick, depending on your fragrance, Cd, csn, cdn, cotton core. 

coco83 is pretty soft, with a relatively low melt point so you will be forever trying to balance the heat of the flame with the consumption. 

"Did anyone find a way to just use the coconut 83 wax the way it is?"

Short answer: no
 I'm mad at that wax ;)   I found it basically unwickable to my satisfaction. I'm grateful that their past supply/stock issues got me looking for a better wax.
Good riddance!

Edited by pughaus
  • Like 1

10 hours ago, Hogue said:

@TallTayl did you find a wick that kept a low flame, and didn’t produce soot on the side of the jar?

I found that balance between heat and rate of consumption helps. I decided against that wax for many reasons.  Like pughaus above, it pushed me to develop my own wax and I have never been happier. 

2 hours ago, TallTayl said:

I found that balance between heat and rate of consumption helps. I decided against that wax for many reasons.  Like pughaus above, it pushed me to develop my own wax and I have never been happier.