Rice Bran Wax Candles?

Hey guys. Anyone here have any experience with rice bran wax candles? I am new to candle making. I wanted a completely vegan candle so started experimenting with rice bran wax and coconut oil. I’ve gone from a 50/50 blend all the way down to 80/20. I am have some trouble with candle burning properly. The 80/20 blend has been the best so far. I am using hemp wick as well. Any advice or guidance here would be much appreciated! 

May I ask where you have purchased your rice bran wax?  Most rice bran wax sold in US that I know are for cosmetic or skin care usage.  Even Chinese ones are for cosmetic or skin care usage also.  Only country that makes rice bran wax candle would be Japan, and it is dipped candle with washi paper wick.  What kind of candle are you trying to make with rice bran wax?

If you are looking for vegan wax, then there are soy, palm, coconut, & apricot waxes for candle to choose from.  And there is beeswax, which may not be considered as vegan.

• Like 1

You may have to experiment quite a bit with different types of wicks to see if you can get a good burn. Describe your problems with your combo. Flames too high, candle burn out, flickering, doesn’t burn to edge in container? You also need to tell us what container you are using as well, and width.

I found Rice bran challenging to blend with.  First, it takes FOREVER for rice bran wax to set up.  In my cool shop it stays liquid for hours.  After burning my candles made with rice bran wax, I noticed they too take forever to set up again.  They stay soft and liquid like when first poured. 

wicking rice bran wax, like anything else, takes trial and error.  It is not a point and shoot product.  If you have time and like challenges it could be a nice niche market.  A couple of online sellers have these candles. Maybe buy a few to test burn and see if it is all as awesome as the marketing.