Advice for a newbie

Hi Everyone!  I am new here and a complete newbie to making candles.  A few months ago I decided that I wanted to make my own candles for personal use and maybe down the road (VERY far down the road) sell a few.  I have spent hours upon hours in the depths of this forum trying to determine how to start.  I finally decided to reach out to all of the amazing people on here and ask for some advice.  I have yet to make a candle but my gut desire is to make a candle with beeswax, high melt coconut oil, and possibly some essential oils for fragrance. Any recommendations or advice from you experts about anything would be much appreciated.  I have bought a few coconut oil/beeswax candles on Etsy and have been underwhelmed with them.  I am really looking forward to this process but finding the courage and time to actually initiate is has been challenging.  Thank you in advance!!

Julie S

Welcome and good luck 😅

if you are up for a good challenge, you picked the right waxes to start.  Beeswax has its own unique set of issues you might want to learn before adding “stuff” to it. 

for example, every single box of beeswax will be different.  It is a natural product that varies based on so many factors inherent to the life of the bees who produced that wax. From where they were raised, to what they ate, to how old the wax is that was pulled from the hive, if it was capping or hive cells, etc will all change your product. THe difference can be slight, only requiring a wick tweak, or it can be dramatic where the candle won’t even burn. 
beeswax also continues to harden over time. A taper or pillar I make today will burn at least one to 2 wick sizes different in a few months. That’s just how beeswax rolls. It will also shrink somewhat.