Strange! The flame becomes very small

Hello,

I just joined this forum and am happy to share with you in this great community.
I often read a few pages of exchanges to learn.
I have been working on the molded candle for about 3 years and have been launching myself for a few months in the scented candle containing it. What a strange world!

I am faced with a strange phenomenon during my wicking tests. Do you have any opinions?

This phenomenon is systematic in large containers type 3 wicks. With two different scents the same problem
At the beginning of the container I have large flames.
I would be tempted to say that my wicks are too big with too large pools of cast iron. Knowing that this is only the beginning of the burn and that the rest will be even hotter.
But during about the third burn or half of the container the flames become very small. Really very small.
Without cutting the wicks at any time.

I use TCR natural waxed wicks.
 FO: 10% in these models.
With or without color, the phenomenon is the same. Vegetable soy wax.

I also have the impression of having this phenomenon in smaller containers.

Do you have an idea?

Thank you and good day

Fabrice

Edited by Altore

Could be a few things.

Perhaps the wicks  are too big and drown as they become choked for oxygen further in the burn 

could be the FO is either clogging or otherwise inhibiting the wicks

could be just too much fragrance

if the candles burn fine unscented then it pinpoints the FO as the culprit. Whether a specific fragrance or too much of that fragrance. 

have you performed a baseline test of your candles with unscented wax?

I am suspecting you are using KeraSoy with TCR wick both of which are not available in US.   I don't have experience with any of them, but here are my 2 guesses.

1. Starved oxygen down the container

2. Amount of fragrance the wick is having to burn through