new to candle making

hi I am new to candle making! Hoping I could get some proper insight!

I have made a few scented candles already and they have come out pretty good, just  some issues. I've tried multiple waxes, coconut, soy, parasoy, veggysoy and I've tried multiple wicks, eco, htp and CD. I seem to be coming across issues with wet spots/poor adhesion the sides of my glass jar, wax discoloring, excess soot and not an even melt pool. I've tried so many possibilities I am unsure where to focus on and how to correct what issue. Or how to figure out the root of which issue.

please help!

It's tough to give advice without knowing exact candle wax, wick & jar are giving problems.  Also are you adding color or additives?  Could be pour temp, fo adding temp, wrong wick, too much fo, just so many variables.  Wet spots are inevitable with vege wax, coconut not as much but I still get them.  I'd focus more on the melt pool and hot throw.  Work with 1 wax at a time first without scent and get a good burn and then add scent.  There are so many threads here that address the problems and you can use the search under either general or vege waxes to find most of your answers.

Edited by kandlekrazy
  • Like 1

I would just add 6% is great for palm wax and paraffin but imo 7-9% worked better for me when using straight 464 wax or coconut wax from lab and co. There are some stronger f.o.s like pines, lemon verbena, coffee, peppermint types that have worked great at a lower percentage, many though are not as strong so you’ll have to test.

My initial thought was this:  it's winter, and wet spots for me happen because I pour into a cold container. In addition to everyone else's advice above, try warming your jars before you pour. It'll help slow the cooling process. Though, wet spots are inevitable.

• 3 weeks later...