It finally happened to me—bad 464!

...and I have about 600 pounds of it left. =(

As you all may notice, this is my first post here! I discovered these forums searching for this issue. I've learned a lot already so I want to say THANK YOU to everyone here for having such an excellent community. I hope I can give back.

§

I've been using the same recipes for about 4 years now and they're the bomb. Suddenly I'm having doozies...candles not staying lit, scent throw nothing like what it normally is. It could be some other issue—a bad batch of oil, a byproduct of the crazy weather changes here—yet I'm neurotic that it's the wax, as the symptoms fit based on what I've read elsewhere.

This comes at a really bad time, too, as sales have taken off over the last couple of years (a side hobby having developed a life of its own) and I'm starting to put less time into my "other job" to put more time into the candle biz. I did about 20k in sales last year and I sold out of things multiple times throughout the summer street fair season that just ended. I finally have some time off from work, I'm sold out and need to restock ASAP, I have a couple of events coming up later this month, I have a semi-pallet of wax, and...might not be able to use it.

So, a few questions:

1. Is there a place we track which lots are bad? If not, that seems like it could be a useful thing to do for the community. I'm happy to start a thread for that myself!

2. Those who have had bad batches before, have you found workarounds to use the wax (like e.g. wicking up)?

3. I saw one mention of someone getting a refund; I wouldn't expect it, but is this a thing with substantial quantities?

4. How can you confirm that the issue is the wax?

I know coconut is all the rage with the kids these days...I've been so busy I haven't had time to play with it but I'm thinking I'm going to have to develop my own wax blend just to minimize the potential inconsistencies between different kinds of waxes.