How to handle drop in temperature when adding FO, stirring, and pouring

Howdy all,

I'm relatively new to candle making and had some questions.  I'm using the apricot/coconut blend from Wooden Wick Co., as well as some of their fragrances. The quality seems outstanding. However, I'm running into an issue that I'm not necessarily sure how to handle.  As advised, I'm currently heating my wax to between 180-190 degrees (actually aiming for about 187) before adding my FO.  However, once my FO is added, I've noticed a considerable drop in temperature -- especially in larger batches.  For example, let's say I'm melting 35oz of wax, and adding in 4.2oz of FO (which is about 12% load, which the wax states it can handle), it is not uncommon for the temperature to drop from the mid 180s to around the 155/160 range.  I understand this is just due to the displacement of the liquids, but how should I handle this?  It's advised to stir in FO for about 2-3 minutes, but how do I handle this when the wax has dropped so much? Won't it not bind?  Should I be getting it warm again while stirring, while staying in the 180-190 range, to avoid burning off the FO? The optimal pour temp is also in the same range.. so it has me slightly confused on the best way to approach this.

Any advice would be fantastic!

Edited by TheNovice

Hi and welcome!

I do use this wax.

It might be a good idea to start small when first learning candle making. This way you’ll learn how your wax behaves. So start slow.

I heat to 185 ish.

Add in my FO and stir for 2 minutes and yes the temp will lower. Since I pour between 125-130 this is ideal for me.

Ive never used 12% FO even if it can handle that amount. Try 6-8 percent to start, you can add more in your next candle. The FO from Wooden Wicks is expensive!

Have some wicks ready to test, some will work others not so much. Candle sites will recommend sizes but you have to test your self for the safest end product that’s if you sell.