Buying wax on Ebay...a no-no?

I’ve been buying my 4630 wax on Ebay because it’s the cheapest retailer I’ve found. Here is the link if you’re interested: https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2380057.m4084.l1313.TR12.TRC2.A0.H0.X46.TRS0&_nkw=4630+wax

I’m a little concerned because I’m in the middle of testing wicks with this wax (I’m a chandler newbie, this is the first ever wax I’ve played with) and I haven’t found anything that wicks well with it yet. I heard this was a good newbie wax (easy to work with, great throw), but I’m not getting that. Is it possible my wax may not be true 4630 after all? Or am I just so new that I’m overestimating my ability to wick it quickly? 

Hi @angelcandles. I don't know for sure and I can't speak from experience but you would think that buying wax or any other candle making supplies on eBay would be fine as long as you buy from a reputable seller, particularly a candle supply company and not Sally's Bait & Tackle, LOL. For instance I saw this on eBay from vacandlesupplies which appears to be a solid business and has their own website too.

https://vacandlesupply.com/ 

https://www.ebay.com/itm/IGI-4630-CONTAINER-WAX-SINGLE-POUR-CANDLE-WAX-CANDLE-MAKING-SUPPLIES/230848951027?hash=item35bfab72f3:m:mOg9zbCZHjNx3mCTUa1i_Bw

I consider eBay as another source for artisans and businesses to open shop and display their goods just like on Etsy and Amazon.

• Like 1

I consider 4630 an easy to use wax in comparison to some of the others, but candle making isn't easy no matter what wax you choose.  What wicks are you using?  What fragrance oils?  What is your process?  One or more of those things is probably where your problems lie, not the wax.

• Like 1

15 minutes ago, bfroberts said: