What Advice Would You Give a Newbie?

I sometimes think back to when I started and all my misconceptions and mistakes. I often see newbies come here and usually they are asking questions that have been ask before; mostly it is some variation of “why doesn’t my soy candle have any HT?” I have often thought about writing a couple of paragraphs of dos and don’ts for newbies, but I’m certainly not the most qualified person for that task. So I’m asking all of y’all for one or two bits of advice you would give to someone just starting out that would help them avoid the mistakes many newbies make. Maybe one day I’ll put them all together in a coherent narrative.

I’ll start off with use a 7% FO load, using more will only cause you problems.

• Like 3

7 hours ago, Sarah S said:

Stick with one wax, one container size, and one wick series for at least three months while you are learning the process.

I'm a newbie but this is 100% the best advice ever, in my opinion.

I jumped into this not realizing how involved it was and how much testing went into everything.  I started testing different scents, different containers, different wicks, and different waxes. In the end I really had no data for a ready for production candle..  I did, however, learn a lot about how waxes react to different variables and now have a pretty good idea on a wick starting point for testing.  However, If I had applied the KISS principle (Keep It Simple Stupid) and put together a testing plan from day 1 using realistic goals and expectations I could probably have learned the same thing in half the time using half the material and with half the frustration.

• Like 4

On 7/11/2019 at 2:29 PM, Sarah S said:

Stick with one wax, one container size, and one wick series for at least three months while you are learning the process.

This this this this 🙂 this 🙃 this 🙂 this 🙃