Starting Out

Hello All,

I am new to the idea of candle making and have been doing tons of searches on all information I can. (I am a crafter so I always start with research before diving in) 

There is tons of information out there and it's almost a little overwhelming. I am not looking to start a business or make a profit (right this second). Its purely for my enjoyment and another way for me to be creative. 

I've read some of the forums already on here and theyve helped. However, there are things I'm still unsure of. What is the best type of wax to start with as a beginner? (If there is one) I've read the basic supply list of wax, container, wick, color and fragrence. What else is needed for those who have done this before? What tips and tricks could be provided to help get me started in this craft? 

Thanks

Hi and welcome to a new obsession. 

The best wax to start with is not easy to pinpoint. Every wax has its strengths and drawbacks. 

For a total newbie, paraffin waxes tend to get the quickest early results. 4627 and 4630 are pretty easy to get and learn. They’re not finicky about fragrances and don’t require long cure times like soy and soy blends. Wicks are fairly common and straightforward. 

Good luck!

I think starting with parrafin wax is a great way to go. Or even a parasoy blend like 6006.

IMO, veggie based waxes are so finicky, and a huge investment of effort. Why torture yourself so early on? Once you get the hang of making a great candle with paraffin, then you could expand to other waxes without such a steep learning curve.

When I started out, I started with soy because I assumed that's just what everyone used. Seemed like it anyway! Boy, those candles were terrible! I'm so thankful that I was able to quickly switch gears and get a couple slabs of parrafin container wax. So much better! I had fragrant, beautiful candles in a matter of weeks as opposed to months.