USPS Shipping

MilosCandles

There have been many times in my life that I have Cursed the USPS.  But as a small business owner I love them.  Few things I have learned that will hopefully help someone else.

Few things I do

I do buy 6x4x4 brown boxes to use.  (Cost me about $.30 each)

1 - Under 1 pound (15.9 ounces or less) I ship First Class Mail.  15.9 ounces in a 6x4x4 box cost my $4.94 

2 - If there is over 1 pound in the 6x4x4 box I can put that box it in a Flat Rate Bubble envelope and ship Flat Rate Priority Mail for $6.90 (includes $100 Insurance)

3 - If I need 2 6x4x4 boxes I can put them box in a Priority Mail Regional A box.  Because I am in the Buffalo, NY most packages I send cost me between $7.10 - $8.25 (includes $100 Insurance) if they are going WAY across the country maybe $10

4 - I can fit 4 of my 6x4x4 boxes in a Rate B box.  The most I think that cost me is like $12.  (includes $100 Insurance)

After that it is cheaper to use Fedex or UPS.  

USPS Insurance is SOOOO simple and easy.  I have filed 3 claims in the last few months (many more over the years).  I just ask the customer to send me 3 pictures of the damage.  I open a claim online and in 2-3 weeks they send me a check.  In the mean time I am just making and sending the customer a new candle.  Everyone is happy in the end.  Basically another sale for me.

If you have never used a USPS Regional Rate Box (A or B ) order some and try them.  

To get the biggest discounts on USPS shipping I use     90% of the time I use PirateShip 10% - Shippo (Both Free)

This was my drop off Monday morning at the post office which is like a mile from my house and on the way to my 9-5 job.

20181210_092916.jpg

Edited by MilosCandles
  • Like 7
  • Thanks 1

Let me know if this helps.

Basically you a paying a flat WEIGHT shipping cost rather than weight and distance.

Box A
Ships at approximately the same rate as a regular 2lb package   

Up to 15 lbs, same flat rate