Help!

Ok, so I'm relatively new to candle making, but I've already sold over 50 candles within the space of a week. However, during that week I had to change wax twice because I used the wrong kinds. Now I've decided to go to IGI 4630 wax (I'm making container candles). What I need help on is, how do you guys measure your fragrance oil? I've tried by weight but all I got in my jars was a mess that had too much fragrance so it curdled. I had used 7% fragrance, but I was using a "General Purpose Candle Making Wax" that didn't specify a fragrance load. Please help!

Edited by TheGreyDragon

You're selling candles, but you don't know what you're doing?  The first thing I would do is stop selling candles until I knew I had a tested product that I was fully confident about.  These are candles, unlike most other crafts, they need to be taken seriously.  It's an art and a science that deserves the time and patience to make a safe, enjoyable product.

• Like 7
  • Thanks 1

I 100% agree with birdcharm. I can't stress enough how important a SAFE Candle is and it takes a lot of testing, trial and error. I also wouldn't sell a candle until I was properly licensed (depending on your states laws) and insured. And even then, I'd need to be confident I used to right recipe/formulation that was safe and effective. Someone can burn their house down with an improperly made candle. Sure, it may be rare, but it does happen. 

That all being said, you can learn how much your jar holds and then measure out candle wax, FO, etc., by weight with a kitchen-type scale. You want a consistent candle, so I take a lot of notes during testing so that as I make adjustments and settle on a final formula, I can keep it consistent moving forward. 

• Like 1