Photographing products for on-line sales

Forrest

In another thread TT suggested I should write an article about photographing our products, and while I have some basic knowledge in this area, unless you’re selling grandchildren or sunsets my experience is limited. So to build on my knowledge base I did a little research, and I found this excellent article on Etsy’s site. Not being one to reinvent the wheel I thought I would post this here. Also this is just one part of ETSY’s Seller Handbook which contains information on many other subjects that would be helpful to anyone wanting to sell on-line.

https://www.etsy.com/seller-handbook/article/the-ultimate-guide-to-product/143986679284

• Like 4
  • Thanks 2

Funny you posted this.  I have been watching my etsy site, my sales are way up from last year.  The biggest thing I changed was my pictures.  Last spring I bought a "photo Studio" on amazon and some wood like back drops.  Then then to Michael's and bought some props.  I spent like $200 total. Plus I had an empty bedroom.  LOL

I was making a new website (online store) for myself and decided I need to get some good pictures and needed specific ones for certain parts of my website.  So with a little help from my girlfriend we started playing around.  I needed something that as I added product I could easily reproduce to keep things consistent.

Last 30 Day Stats compared to same time last year.

I was paying for Ad's on Etsy but I am not any more. I was paying last year, not this year.

Total Views Up 65%

Visits Up 50%

Orders Up 130%

Revenue Up 134%

The way I interpret those stats is that

Yes more people as seeing my items, BUT WAY more are actually buying them.  

My descriptions really did not change,  my titles did not change. Tags did get tweeked a little. I did raise my prices from last year.  I always had good reviews.

I have to attribute this to the new pictures.