Decorating Wax Melts

BeckyLauren94

Probably been asked before but...
I make small pot wax melts and was wondering if it was worth decorating them. I always try to keep mine naturally coloured, and the semi-bright colours tend to attract people, but am interested in making them look pleasing to the eye with surface decorations. 
I have some very fine "candle safe" glitter, but am wary about using it in melts. Does this not melt and leave a bad residue or fumes? 
I have seen a few that use household spices to decorate their melts but I worry about the effects of these under heat.

I guess what I would really like to know is what wax melt decorations are safe!

Any help would be appreciated!

Hi @BeckyLauren94. I'm only getting started with learning how to make wax melts so I don't really know. I like the idea of getting creative with them using different shapes and embellishments. Hopefully someone with experience will share their valuable knowledge. I'd like to find some Do's & Don'ts of wax melt making and packaging.

You can use mica, the smaller the particle size the better it will stay suspended and not all float to the bottom (which I love found some more glittery stuff does).  In terms of actual glitter, I'm not sure, but I tried, and it seems ok so far.   They also have biodegradable glitter out there,not sure how that would do with the heat.  

The mica is very pretty.  I tried dusting the tops , but it works better when wax is still wet.  Painting it on with an alcohol solution might work too and I might try that.  

Edited by Jenni Wix
Spelling
  • Thanks 1

On 12/2/2018 at 9:04 PM, BeckyLauren94 said:

Probably been asked before but...
I make small pot wax melts and was wondering if it was worth decorating them. I always try to keep mine naturally coloured, and the semi-bright colours tend to attract people, but am interested in making them look pleasing to the eye with surface decorations.