Something that I read that changed my candle making life!

I was on a crafting site a few weeks ago (I cannot for the life of me remember what it was) and I was searching for information about sink holes and how to avoid them.  I've been making candles for about 4 years so I'm getting the hang of this and I'm always reading threads here- I've learned a lot over the years about pouring temps, etc. 

Now this may be something ya'll already know, but the tip I read that has changed my life is that if you are using a jar that changes shape at the top, stop your pour before you get to that narrowing.  I have added 8 oz square masons to my lineup just for seasonal scents (I only use 9 and 16 oz amber straight sided jars--keeps my life as simple as possible!) and I was read to pull my hair out due to sink holes on every candle, every pour.  It was driving me insane.  After I read the tip I mentioned, I stopped pouring right where the flared square part of the jar narrows to the neck.  Voila.  No more sink holes.  I can tell when I've poured just a bit too far because I will get a sink hole; easy to fix with the heat gun as soon as I see it.  It sure beats fixing every dang one of them.  

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1

I dunno about that.  Soy wax can be a finicky mistress. Poke around under the surface of your next bunch of candles and see if it holds true,  ive had sink holes/cavities in many containers at different pour levels. The only way they stay at bay in my shop is by managing pour temps and rate of cooling.

2 hours ago, TallTayl said:

I dunno about that.  Soy wax can be a finicky mistress. Poke around under the surface of your next bunch of candles and see if it holds true,  ive had sink holes/cavities in many containers at different pour levels. The only way they stay at bay in my shop is by managing pour temps and rate of cooling.