Copycats, etsy and assorted insanities.

bfroberts

I'm new to selling on etsy.  Well, I've sold things on etsy before, but I have never sold anything I made on etsy.  Just vintage stuff.

I recently opened an etsy shop for candles, etc.  I've got about 15 listings, getting decent hits but no sales yet.  I don't have an internet presence for my products....at all.  I'm just beginning to work on that, but I don't have a lot of time to devote.  Point is, I have an etsy shop & a website but no customers.

Now I've created what I think is an original product, similar to wax brittle kinda, but a little trendy and very pretty.  I do not see this particular item being offered by anyone else anywhere.   It's labor intensive and will require a little more costly packaging, so it will have a higher price tag, but I think the market will bear that.  I have not listed this item yet because I also think it will immediately be copied.  And it will probably be copied by someone who actually has a following and customers that will buy it.  I have neither.

I'm trying to decide if I should list it and hope it brings me some buyers before other people also start making it and push little ole me out of the marketplace altogether.  Basically, I guess I am selfish.  I don't know.  Or maybe it's not that great of an idea and no one will copy it.  I don't know that either.  But I would hate to put it out there and have no buyers, but then see an established seller make it and sell boatloads.

Are copycats even a thing on etsy?  It's horrible in our real life biz.  Every stinking thing we do gets copied by someone. Our t-shirt designs, our cabin design, our signs, our Facebook posts, every stinking thing.   

Somebody talk to me, please.  

56 minutes ago, bfroberts said:

Are copycats even a thing on etsy?

I would say yes, its everywhere. Someone was just talking about the copying on youtube.